Type A, Type B, Spec A, Spec B

No, the title of this post is not a Dada Poem.

These are terms used to describe dwelling units subject to the Fair Housing Act (FHA).  And they are some of the most confusing terms, but confusion keeps me in business so who am I to complain.

In a typical apartment complex, if you are using the IBC 2006 as your safe harbor code for complying with the design requirements of the FHA, 2% of the units are required to be Type A units.  A Type A unit requires more clear floor space, maneuvering clearance at doors and other features that are not required in a Type B unit.

If you are using the FHA Design Manual as your Safe Harbor, Type A Units are not required.  In a non-elevator building, except for the Type A units, all ground floor units are required to be Type B units.

Now here’s the confusing bit: Type A units only have one set of rules for the bathrooms, but in the Type B Units, you can have either Specification A or Specification B bathrooms.  I’ll explain the difference in a later post.


3 Responses to Type A, Type B, Spec A, Spec B

  1. Ron Lockman says:

    What causes a unit to become designated a Type A unit as opposed to a Type B unit?

  2. jeromymurphy says:

    The number of Type A and Type B units is determined by the Safe Harbor that you selected. Safe Harbors are codes or standards that meet or exceed the minimum design requirements set forth by HUD.

  3. […] of the Fair Housing Act are referred to as “covered units”.  The ANSI A117.1 Type B dwelling unit is equivalent to a “covered […]

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s